Wine Escape
Fill in your information below.


First Name:


Last Name:


Email:


Country:


Review


To view or send current reviews please follow the link on our homepage to our Tripadvisor page.

Wine Escapes provided a tremendous two day experience for my family in May 2016.  The first day, John took the five of us on a tour of the Cape and Table Mountain which was spectacular, professional, educational, but above all fun!  The second day we went with John on a wine tour of Franschhoek and Stellbosch tailored to our wine preferences.  Our experience was fantastic and made all the more special from the attention and services of John and Wine Escapes. Stephen King and Family, USA, May 2016
 
What a wonderful day. Not only are you excellent company but your knowledge on the region and on wines is profound and impressive. As requested we had a most inspiring and eye opening day in off the beaten track wine farms, located in the picturesque scenery of the Stellenbosch winelands. I would never do a winetasting tour any other way. Thank you John. Hella Gobel and Friends, Germany/Namibia, May 2016


What an amazing day we spent with John! We met as strangers but by the end of the day it felt like he was our friend who went back a long way. His passion for wine & South Africa really comes through. Even though we are novices when it comes to wine, John taught us a lot about wine & the process it takes to get to the table without being condescending or pedantic about it. We thoroughly enjoyed our day & cant recommend it more highly. Kavya Presanna, India, August 2012



Wow - a birthday with a difference for sure!  Louise had planned the whole day in secret and John had been nothing but helpful - arranging a tailored personal tour over email.  Spending time in the fabulous Stellenbosch vineyards would be amazing anyway - but what really made the day was John\'s expert knowledge and amiable personality.  Not sure if it was the wine, but by early afternoon it was more like we were travelling with an old friend rather than an expert we'd met that morning.  We were also chuffed later on in our holiday when another tour guide mentioned all three of the vineyards we'd visited as part of the best 5! We're now blazing Scotland telling all of the merits of SA wine - and were delighted to find some Waterford at the shop at the end of our road!  Interesting, warm and generous - we hope to be able to do this again in the future with John and Wine Escapes. Mark Oatey and Louise Reid, Scotland, February 2012


What an enjoyable, informative and relaxing day we shared with John last week. His knowledge and enthusiasm gained through travel, and no doubt hard work,enables him to impart this knowledge from a first hand experience, which is invaluable. Also, his valuable personal contact with the vineyards we visited made our experience both relaxed and memorable. We would have no hesitation in recommending a wine tour with Wine Escapes to anyone who visits Stellenbosch and the surrounding areas. Thank you again and very best wishes for the future. Barry & Jill Johnson, England (17 March 2012)


During our trip to Cape Town at the end of February 2012, we had the privilege to be guided through the Stellenbosch wine country by John.  He selected fantastic wineries for our tour - Rust en Vrede for a full tasting, Guardian Peak for an amazing Lunch, and Waterford Estate to finish with a wine and chocolate pairing...  We discovered what we felt were some of the best wines and scenery the country has to offer.  The entire experience was absolutely first class!  John is an extremely knowledgeable and pleasant host.  We would recommend his services to any wine enthusiast, no matter what your level of expertise.  The memory of this day will remain as one of the best we have experienced.  Thank you John!  With best wishes, Bernard, Julie & William Leblanc, Switzerland


Last weekend (18 February 2012) John showed us around different vineyards in Stellenbosch - it was an incredible, unforgettable day and made our stay in South Africa even more special. John is a sommelier and is also very knowledgeable about the surroundings of Stellenbosch - it\'s a pleasure listening to him! John, thank you again! Lars and Caroline Selsas, Switzerland (February 2012)


On January 11 , 2012 we had a really wonderful Tour with John. He Know all about wine and he will Guide you to the wineries you would not have visted without him. He is also a profound expert in the History of The wine lands. It was a pleasure sharing a Day with him and I can recommend. Bernhard Wangler, Germany (11 January 2012)


Our wine tasting experience with Wine Escapes was definitely a highlight of our honeymoon. John tailored our afternoon pefectly, visiting specific vineyards to accomodate our favourite wines and also a dairy allergy I have, organising a dark chocolate and turkish delight tasting, which was delicious. Fabulous wine, stunning scenery and John\'s relaxed, informative but very professional company was a winning formula for a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. An experience we highly recommend. Thanks guys, Amanda and Adrian Wooldridge, Greece (27 August 2011)


A friend and I met John last weekend (3 September 2011).  We had such an amazing day (which started with chocolate and wine tasting - yum). I am now so excited about wine and I have learnt so much about it.  I cant wait to plan a lunch/dinner party because at least this time I will know which wine to pair up with a particular meal.  John was really friendly and knowledgable.  I highly recommend Wine Escapes to anyone who wants to go on an amazing wine tour with breathtaking views! Geraldine Payne, South Africa


In early July 2011, I was lucky enough to have Wine Escapes show me around Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. I had an amazing time and truly enjoyed the variety of wineries I visited. John Grant is an expert on the area, and I highly recommend Wine Escapes to anyone in search of a high-touch, highly personal tour of SA wine country! Erika Wool, USA


Whenever we open a bottle of South African wine, we fondly think of our wonderful wine-tour with John and Sherry. We thoroughly enjoyed our tailor-made wine-tour and it was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa! Such truly knowledgeable and experienced wine-guides are a rare find! We had a most enjoyable and relaxing day, but at the same time we learnt SO much! The restaurant where we had lunch (upon their recommendation) was absolutely fabulous too! We would give them (John and Sherry) a 5 star rating for their tour, but also because they are such friendly and welcoming guides, and absolutely recommend them to anyone who would want a personal but highly professional service. Hannah & Andi Hertig, Zürich, Switzerland